Ed McBee – Department of Sanitation

The Grainger County Department of Sanitation Recycling Center accepts old Furniture, Mattresses, Chairs, Tires and Household garbage. There is also recycling bins for Paper, Plastic, Cardboard, Scrape Metal, Aluminum and Used Oil. We Do Not accept Wood or Brush at the Recycling Center. 

These services are provided for Grainger County Resident Only. We will not accept garbage, waste, and tires from out of the County.

All Convenience Centers are Open On Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday & Saturdays, Closed on Wednesdays. All Convenience Centers accept Household garbage. They also have bins for recycling of Paper, Plastic, and Cardboard & Used motor oil.

Important Information:

Holiday Closing Schedule for Sanitation Dept. – Holidays 2023

New Hours for Thorn Hill Convenience Center, Effective 07/31/2023 – Monday 10:00 am- 6:00 pm; Tuesday 8:00 am- 4:00 pm; Wednesday – Closed; Thursday 10 am-6:00 pm; Friday 10:00 am – 6:00 pm; Saturday 8:00 am- 4:00 pm;

Grainger County Department of Sanitation/Recycling Center
8:00am – 4:00 Mon. Tue. Thur. Fri. Sat.
Closed on Wed.


Convenience Center Hours


Mon., Thur., Fri. : 10:00am – 6:00pm

Tues., Sat. : 8:00am – 4:00pm


Mon., Thur., Fri. : 10:00am – 6:00pm

Tues., Sat. : 8:00am – 4:00pm

Indian Ridge:

Thur., Fri. : 10:00am – 6:00pm

Tues., Sat. : 8:00am – 4:00pm

Thorn Hill:

Mon., Tues., Thur., Fri. : 12:00pm – 6:00pm

Sat. : 8:00am – 4:00pm


Mon., Thur., Fri. : 8:00am – 4:00pm

Tues., Sat. : 10:00am – 6:00pm

Bean Station:

Mon., Tue., Thurs., Fri., Sat. : 8:00am – 6:00pm


Mon. : 8:00am – 4:00pm

Tues., Thurs. : 10:00pm – 6:00pm

Sat. : 8:00am –  4:00pm